Another mini match

Another week another mini match. This week I managed to improve in some areas but slip slightly in others.

My position for the 200yd offhand felt less stable than last time. I had a few shots which I called as bad as soon as they went off. I think I wasn’t finding the same position every time I set up.

200 yd slow fire (offhand) 30th June '15

200 yd slow fire (offhand) 30th June ’15

My sitting rapid was better. I tried to get the rifle as vertical as I could and (possibly) as a result my group was centered more on the bull. I did make the mistake of wearing shorts and found out that the grip pads on my jacket are quite coarse and uncomfortable on bare legs.

200yd Rapid fire (Sitting) 30th June '15

200yd Rapid fire (Sitting) 30th June ’15

My 300yd rapid was also an improvement, however after firing my shots I got distracted collecting my brass and nearly missed seeing my target after it was marked. I got the score but the target was pulled before I could record the placement of my shots.

300yd rapid fire 30th June '15

300yd rapid fire 30th June ’15

My 300yd slow fire started well, and I thought I was going to improve on my previous mini match result, however I had a mystery 9 on my fourth shot and a few others that stubbornly missed the x ring. Other shooters reported having shots go high, so I wonder if the light levels shifted briefly…or I had a bad shot.

After 6 & 7 went high I adjusted my sights down a quarter minute and then shots 8 & 9 went in about a quarter minute low. Since 6 & 7 are clearly more than a quarter minute high the sight adjustment was more of a gesture since I didn’t really believe an adjustment was required. Shots 6-9 are also drifting left but I don’t know what that means.

In the end however, I suppose I can’t really grumble about 99-4.

300yd slow fire 30th June '15

300yd slow fire 30th June ’15

Leave a Reply

