600yds at Gopher RRC

Last night I went to Gopher Rifle and Revolver Club to shoot in their 600yd practice.

I had originally planned to take my Swing, but a busy weekend meant I had no chance to load ammunition for it, so I took the AR with some 80gr loads I had in my cupboard.

The weather was hot, it was above 85 F (around 30 C) during my detail. The wind was light but a touch variable and I was adjusting back and forth 1/4 – 1/2 minute now and then.

We arrived late and the first detail was almost done, but there were enough people willing to pull targets so both myself and Phil (my ride to the range) could shoot in the second detail.

My first sighter was an 8, but then I pulled it in and came out with a respectable score (see scorecard below). I kept mostly in the 10 but was hovering around the X. I felt like my group was a touch larger than it should have been considering the light wind. Phil suggested my load might need tweaking.

I also had trouble with sweat running into my eyes (I had to stop to get a towel out of my bag shortly after starting), and dirt on my lens which was exacerbated by the sun shining from my left and highlighting the dust. I adjusted my foresight aperture down from 3.3mm – 3mm as I was seeing too much clutter around the aiming mark, and I think my group tightened a touch from that.

My butt stock again worked without major issue. The butt plate is a bit slick, I had tried to make it stickier by attaching bits of a moldable rubber material, but when it set it wasn’t very sticky. In the next version I will make it smooth and glue on a piece of rubber material. I also discovered while cleaning that the adjustment bolts were no longer tight. This didn’t affect my shoot as the design doesn’t allow the stock to move without loosening the bolts quite a bit more, but it is still something to think about.

Below is my scorecard, and beneath that is a post shoot “selfie”, as you can see I am a bit red in the face.

After the shoot I went to a bar with a few of the other guys and experienced a miscommunication with the waitress. I’m pretty sure I ordered a glass of water but somehow she heard orange juice. I drank it anyway.

600yd Score card 9th June 2015

600yd Score card 9th June 2015

A hot day at 600 yds

A hot day at 600 yds

2 comments on “600yds at Gopher RRC

  1. Niall Macdonald says:

    “..I had originally planned to take my Swing, but a busy weekend meant I had no chance to load ammunition for it, so I took the AR with some 80gr loads I had in my cupboard…”

    You’re going to have to stop this plinking and get back to serious shooting!

    Niall

    • A says:

      Good point. I’m working on some .308 loads with some Hornady A-max bullets I have that I can’t use on my ranges electronic targets. I also have some Lake City match cases to go with them, then I will have no excuse not to get the Swing out.

Leave a Reply

